Promises

We all say we won’t but we do; we all break promises. It isn’t that we want to break a promise but sometimes it becomes necessary to break them. I try not to promise anyone anything, if I can help it. The only exception to this would be keeping my mouth shut over some secret. Those promises I keep. But, the other ones like promising not to dive off the highest cliff into the Colorado River or promising to finish something on time. Those promises I sometimes don’t keep.

Recently I promised to attend my weekly meetings without fail and although I intend to honor that promise I may not always do so. Promising that you will do something for weeks, months, even years is a promise doomed. So I have come up with a new tactful way to promise someone something. I will promise for a day. I will give my promise that I will not jump off the highest cliff for today but not tomorrow or the day after. I will promise to attend all my meetings for this Sunday but not next Sunday or the Sunday afterwards.

I will make sure that those who have asked a promise of me understands that it is only good for one day. But, I will also make sure they know the difference between a promise and keeping my word. If it is a promise to keep my word, as in not to tell a secret, then that is forever. But, I will no longer promise always on other things.

I do feel the draw of a Mohave Valley cliff calling my name and the promise of the Colorado River to freeze my body upon impact while exhilarating my soul. If you’ve never tried it you should.

Leave a Reply

