If I didn’t know any better

I turned around, before I could run I found you already settled down in the back of my mind. I know this is just a customary fever. The moon is our deceiver that will leave you running blind.

Your heart is pullin’, if I didn’t know any better I’d be fallin’ deeper and deeper, it’s true I’d hear it callin’, if I didn’t know any better. And I’d be in love with you.

Didn’t want to look in the eyes of the one that I would be drawn to, I’m a moth lost in a fire and I know this is just a beautiful illusion a case of the confusion between love and desire.

Your heart is pullin’, if I didn’t know any better I’d be fallin’ deeper and deeper, it’s true I’d hear it callin’, if I didn’t know any better and I’d be in love when the flame burns out. It finally settles down and you forget, I ever came around.

Your heart is pullin’, if I didn’t know any better I’d be fallin’ deeper and deeper, it’s true. I’d hear it callin’, if I didn’t know any better. And I’d be in love with you.

I turned around, before I could run. I found you alread settled down in the back of my mind.

Songwriters: John Scott Sherrill, Mindy Smith (good stuff and good people) Alison Krauss & Union Station recorded this on Lonely Runs Both Ways.

I was listening to the lyrics this morning and had to jot them down. When it comes to good writing I notice, always notice. It’s like a kindred friend has come to call and set for a while on my front porch swing. We settle down with a tall glass of fresh squeezed lemonade over ice and talk a while about life and our thoughts, we smile and laugh the time away. And, when it is all over the parting is as sweet as the welcoming in. It is times like these that make life worth living and sharing. Good music, good words, good old friends.

Leave a Reply

