Crashing!

Totally crashed and burned last night with salad & pasta.  No worries mate — I was good — no bread!  The pasta was enough to up my weight by one and one-half pounds from yesterday morning’s weight-in!  Please excuse me for the vulgar mention of the bodies examination processes but when this occurred the weight was thankfully reduced by one pound.  Later another dumping . . .  put me back on track, so to speak.  Amazing how this works.  So within twelve hours of my last post I had broken one of my diet taboos.  I ate white flour in the form of Barilla Penne Pasta which, as advertised, cooks in 11-12 minutes.  Calories 200; Total Fat 1g; Total Carbohydrates 42g per serving.  The box held 8 servings and I think we ate two each!  In other words: I had my fill.  Satisfied.  Can move on to being a good diet do-be.

The pasta was very good.  Steven fixed it ‘restaurant style’ which I think is actually more ‘cafeteria style’ and even though I like my way better his was very good.  My way, the Italian way, is less dry.  To each his own:) I say!  I have never been opposed to trying something different which can be something insane like hang gliding or deciding it was a good idea to try raw fish!  I have not learned my lessons however so if offered another chance at parachuting — I’ll do it!  It’s just the way it is.

Today, fruit for breakfast and steamed veggies with 3 ounces chicken breast for lunch. 

Halloween behind me the other two major holidays are fast approaching and I am considering which pies to bake this year for Thanksgiving.  My friends (whom I am to visit) favorite pies are pecan and apple.  I can see the pecan pie for Thanksgiving.  I can not see the apple pie for Thanksgiving. But, I can see pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.  I could combine the pumpkin and pecan into one pie.  I’ve done this before and it is to die for!  And, I could make one apple and serve it with thinly sliced cheddar cheese for the top like Mama liked it.  I promised only two pies!  I think I’ll also make some breads, applesauce pumpkin with pecans is a favorite of mine for the holidays.  And with it some Apple Pumpkin Butter. If you are interested:  recipe included here >>>

Preparation: Wash and dry a two -to- three cup glass container. The recipe makes approximately 2 1/2 cups and will be stored in the refrigerator after cooking and cooling so I like to use a glass container for this but it’s your choice, any container will do.

Peal, core and purée apples to make 1 cup of purée (I use macintosh to grannie smith, whatever you have on hand will do for this recipe).  Tartness and sweetness of apples varry so I usually decide if I want the final product to be sweeter or more tart and choose accordingly. Size of apples varry as well so purée until you have the one cup of apple purée.  It’s not rocket science.  It’s just some Butter Jam.  Play with it.  Whatever you do I promise it will be yummy.

In a heavy saucepan place purred apples, 15 ounce can of pumpkin purée, 1 cup apple cider and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar (optional if you like spice: first use light brown sugar instead of the dark and add either #1: 1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice or #2:  3/4 teaspoon cinnamon plus 1/2 teaspoon ginger) and slowly bring this mixture to a boil; reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently to avoid scorching for 1-1/2 hours.  The time is long but it is needed to reduce the apples, pumpkin and cider to a thick apple-butter like consistency.  Cool! Then place into your container and store in the refrigerator.  This will keep up to two weeks.

Another holiday food I like to make is pumpkin dump cake!  You can find lots of recipes on the web for this.  Some with yellow cake mix and some with spice cake mix.  The great thing about this is that it takes so little effort to make and keeps for days upon days on the counter top, covered of course. 

So now that I have thought about holiday cooking and I have eaten my steamed veggies and chicken breast I wonder if I could get away with a Twinkie for dinner???? It’s only 150 cals, guys!!

Leave a Reply

