North Carolina Snow

Snow on trees

Image via Wikipedia

We scrambled home Christmas Day eve from the Faith & Louis Rance’s place on St. Mary’s Church Road to beat increment weather.  We encountered none and could have stayed until midnight.  The next morning the streets and trees were covered in snow and national news reported this was the first white christmas ever in Raleigh, NC.  They were stretching it a bit considering the snow actually fell on the day after christmas.  Did Elizabeth keep her word?  Did she make heaven as an angle and cause Raleigh’s first Christmas snow?  I like to think she did. 

This morning the storm has past us here in North Carolina but continues up the eastern seaboard causing airports and major cities to shut down.  I saw on the news this storm has dropped up to a foot of snow in some areas.  They reported seven plus inches in Raleigh.  I don’t know where they measure the depth of snow but I think it may be more, unofficially as it is more here and in a few other places around our area.  But, then we are east of Raleigh and got more snow.

I love snow.  It comforts me and I can’t explain why this is true.  Maybe I equate it to my childhood when the snow was deep and the pot belly stove was blazing and mama would make hot coco with cream.   My cousins and I would snuggle into a warm feather bed under thick quilts and sleep snug as a bug in a rug and laugh in the morning when we could see our breath.  We’d begrudgingly climb out of bed to a breakfast of scrambled eggs and biscuits and pepper gravy. 

This morning the fields and trees remain covered in snow.  The sun is out.  It will not last more than another day, perhaps two.  Then it will be gone and in this ‘neck-of-the-woods’ we will return to normal.  I’ll miss the snow.

Leave a Reply

