Oven-Baked Dutch Apple Pancakes (substitution: Cherry Pie filling for Apples)

First, let me apologize for the blurred image. It is the only one I have. I asked my grandson to take one, and only one, which he took with his cell phone! Hopefully my bounty of under a dozen followers will forgive this blunder. Actually, I’m surprised I have any followers, being that this is my ‘ranting’ and ‘personal’ blog. May I take this time to say: thank you for following me; it is much appreciated.

I don’t often post about food on this blog but this is my go to recipe for a people pleaser one skillet dish that will feed a bunch of hungry teenagers! And I want to share it with you. It is one that will not tie up the kitchen for an hour while frying one boys egg one way and another boys egg another way; this happens often at my house and can get rather comical. (hint: I will laugh at anything!)

Here is the recipe (I used cherry pie filling for the one in the picture because I had NO apple pie filling! I’ve even used fresh (and very ripe) peaches! Enjoy.

Oven-Baked Dutch Apple Pancakes

Ingredients:
2 Cans apple pie filling
2 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 large eggs
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sour cream (don’t leave out)
1 teaspoon lemon zest (don’t leave out if doing apple pie filling)
1/4 teaspoon salt
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

In a 10 inch cast iron skillet, warm the apple pie filling, butter and cinnamon just until the butter is melted. Do not need to bring this to a boil but it does need to be quite hot.

In a large bowl beat the eggs until frothy. Add the milk, flour, sour cream, lemon zest and salt. Beat just until this batter is smooth. Pour entire batter over the hot apple mixture in the skillet and immediately place skittle into the 350 degree (F) oven.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown and bubbly (see picture)

Take out of oven and dust with the confectioners’ sugar. I use a fine mesh strainer for this so it looks like a light snow on the top; which I did not do to the one pictured as I was out of powered sugar, so this could be optional, I guess.

Serve warm.

Hint: If you let the pancake cool slightly before serving the slices come out easier but please do serve warm. Left overs can be stored in the refrigerator for a day and are just a good warmed in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.

Leave a Reply

