Mahatma Gandhi

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the ways of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants, and murderers, and for a time they can seem invincible, but in the end they always fall. Think of it–always.” – Mahatma Gandhi (1869 – 1948)

images (2)

When I was a child my father carried a picture of Gandhi in his wallet. He did not speak of this man often so growing up I knew little of him, what he stood for and why my father thought it important to carry the picture but in hind-sight I think he carried the picture to remind him that all struggles were lessened by the truth that good will preserver. Challenged by life, my father never gave into hopelessness. He persevered. He died a happy man, satisfied with his own existence and what he had brought to the world around him. My father was a very good man. Quiet and unassuming and a good example to us (me) to follow. 

I am thinking of this today — I.e. how important it is for self happiness to develop the habit of perseverance .  I look all around me and what I find is a society based on the habit of compliance and finger-pointing to lessen personal involvement/responsibility for themselves. This saddens me to my core.  It seems to me that too many Americans lack personal responsibility for their actions, and this is challenging our societal evolution,  keeping us all from being at our best.  I know we can do better. We have done better, as proven by my father’s generation when so much was asked and so much was gladly given. We can do better! And, I think, for our own self-worth as a people, we must do better.

We must give more of ourselves to others, not in a spiritual way, but in a real way. From simple acts of kindness to a helpful hand while never looking for anything in return. This in-and-of-itself will build a more sound and happy society. We must do better! 

Leave a comment