Hannah and Tips Stay with Grandma

734641_321467857955993_1954657830_n

 

Did I ever mention that I write children’s literature? 

It’s one of my passions. I began long long ago in a far away land, as the rains fell gently across my window pain ‘ahem’ pane  — actually, it was in a two story condo in Orange County between husbands — when one of my daughters did something really naughty. Her act gave reason for extra cash and an apology;  I had plenty of emotion cash for the apology but little actual cash to cure her deed. 

Hint about the dastard deed of Miss Pamela Louise: dish soap in very hot water will get spattered raw eggs off windows. 

I wasn’t thrilled about the six eggs taken from my refrigerator which were used to ”decorate her class-room window” during a dare from other forth graders. A few other forth graders were to do the same, but unfortunately for this little kitten’s Mum, it was my brave daughter who took up the dare and follow through with the act! She was caught in mid stance with egg number three in her hand (…very naughty Little Kitten, Mother Cat said…).  

I asked  “Pam how will we pay for this!” 

“I’ll write a sorry note!” she replied. Oh, the mind of a forth grader. Sorry takes care of the pane ‘ahem’ pain. 

That sorry note became a story to share with her classmates during her public classroom apology. I was there to witness her recital of “Naughty Little Kitten”; after her reading, and at the suggestion of Mrs. What-Was-Her-Name, who noticed the children were enthroned by the story, I wrote other stories to share with the classroom as “”learning lessons”” as the teacher put it. And, soon I was making a few of those extra cash dollars — you know, just in case we had more egg spatter or other nonsense caused by one naughty little kitten to contend with. The school principal had a connection with someone in the publishing community.  It was a short lived career.  While it lasted I was in a little kid’s story heaven, in other words: I loved doing this. 

This morning as I watch another little girl, my granddaughter Hannah Grace sleep I am reminded of all the fun I had writing and sharing these stories with children. I was reminded because of one about a little girl sleeping in grandma’s bed with her dog sleeping beneath. Then as fate would have it, this morning I ran across the picture seen above. Amazing how things (thoughts) come together.  

So, on another writing place this morning I wrote: “This picture seems appropriate :) for this morning ~~~ little Miss Hannah is still asleep in my bed and Tips the dog beneath, both in restful slumber. Can’t say I remember a morning like this with my youngsters! Oh wait Tips is up and we’re headed out :) ~~~ It’s raining and it took longer to encourage her to do her thing! Not too cold but the slight breeze and dampness of the rain sent me back inside to wait on Tips just as soon as she was out of site around the street side of the house (must be her “big potty” place?) ~ one whine at the door and she’s back in and going to check on Hannah which is a good reason for me to stop typing! and added Love, Mum”

I have the joy of caring for Hannah and Tips during my kid’s trip to North Carolina to fetch belongings for a move to Ohio. I live in Ohio so this move is a move I approve of big time. Soon, I’ll have Abigail and Destiny here as well. Along with Joseph this will be five little ones three to five years of age! All blonds except, of course, for our red headed Joseph which seems appropriate that the boy has red whilst the girls have blond. My house is about to get really busy and fun — which brings zero complaints from this Grandma. 

 

Leave a Reply

