The Pit Bull who lives outside

<<<<<<No doubt about it: this puppy is Cute — but, she is also going to be a Big-Mean-Pit when fully grown. As sweet as she is today this funny-faced puppy might turn on someone when fully grown and that won’t be so funny.

If the prior sentence becomes a reality: I am convinced it will have absolutely nothing to do with how this puppy is raised but will have everything to do with her innate nature.

Last year my granddaughter Hannah was bitten by the family pure-breed Pit.

She is lucky to have escaped without any permanent damage. The snap and bite from the family dog happened without warning, and so quickly her mother, only inches away from her child and pet, was unable to stop the first strike. The second strike was another story.

Fred the Dog (as we call him) wound up across the room after being lifted high off the carpet by a not quite five-foot two-inch soaking wet one-hundred pound mad-as-hell mother. The kick put him some yards away!

Hannah sustained a gash to her ear where his teeth landed. There was zero warning. There was zero time to stop him. What is the most frustrating is there was zero provocation for the attack.

Immediately, lovely Fred the Dog was banish to the back yard where he lives to this day.

Snow? He’s outside in a heated dog house! Rain? His choice to keep dry or get wet! I don’t think Fred the Dog will ever feel carpet beneath his paws again.

Animal control in North Carolina operates about as well as all the Barney Fife’s (remember Don Knotts character on the Andy Griffith Show?) down at the local police station. They don’t — Animal Control thought Fred only scratched Hannah and said just to keep him outside. Of course, son-in-law is friends, buddies in fact, with some Animal Control officers as well as several police officers. Small towns are wonderful most of the time, but all those kids you go through school with grow up to work for Animal Control, the police department, etc. — basically, the Good-Ole-Boy system keeps the wheels of commerce and law moving forward. (that’s another blog-lol)

But, the medical doctor thought otherwise and treated Hannah for a dog bite and put her through a series of shots! Maybe he’s a Fife knock-off, medically speaking.

Now, Hannah calls their dog him Mean Dog instead of Fred. Hannah is three. Smart as a whip. Cute as a button. Appropriate attitude for a three-year old. In other words: Hannah is (in southern talk) a Mess!

Fred the family dog has been with the family for four or five years without incident and he is a lovely and extremely friendly pit who has been given exceptional care and training. Still, this unexpected attach on Hannah was enough to send her to the emergency room and for Animal Control to make a visit. When they brought Hannah hone from the hospital I think Fred should have been given his exit visa. That’s what I think. But, he lives to bite another day! Don’t you think this is unwise?

I know I should blog about the garden or my current project(s); writing & other things like gardening and sewing; perhaps painting (although, and you can trust me on this, I’m not good enough to blog about painting, oil or otherwise – the walls run away if they spot a paint brush in my hand) but; I just wanted my ‘blogging exceptionally well’ blogger friends to take heed when matching up dogs and children.

I don’t think Ms. Mary needs to say more. Do I? (you can leave a comment to respond, please do :))

You know I love you guys, right? Well, let me tell you that I do. And I want everyone I know, really know or virtually know (I think you know what I mean) to be happy and safe with your chosen pet(s).

Here is some information for all you dog lovers (like me) out there. When matching animal with children consider choosing an appropriate breed for your child.

This according to: FamilyPracticenotebook.com

Risk of bites associated with breed

Aggressive dogs

Dogs associated with fatal attacks
Pit Bull
Malamute
Chow-Chow
Rottweiler
Siberian Husky
German Shepherd
Wolf hybrids

Other Aggressive dogs
Bull terrier
Cocker spaniel
Collie
Doberman Pinscher
Great Dane

Less aggressive breeds (Family dogs)
Boxer
Dalmatian
English Setter
English Springer
Golden Retriever
Irish Setter
Labrador Retriever
Spaniel

Note: Less aggressive breeds does not mean they will never bite; they are less likely to bite. Just so you know our English Setter never bit and was a lovely pet for many years; our Collie was more aggressive than my son-in-law’s Pit! And our Boxer is a Mess waiting to happen! If you can stand a Boxer, they prefer to be part of a pack so get two and enjoy all the activity, running, jumping, digging, barking….a Boxer is a real true dog in all respects. I happen to love Boxers.

Leave a comment